Ten women in shadow cabinet and nationals land trade jobs

Angus Taylor will fill the key post of shadow treasurer in a 24-member shadow cabinet containing 10 women and six nationals.

The roster was announced Sunday by Opposition Leader Peter Dutton and Nationals leader David Littleproud.

In a sign that the opposition may be considering throwing their full weight behind nuclear power, Queensland Liberal nuclear proponent Ted O’Brien becomes shadow minister for climate change and energy .

O’Brien chaired a parliamentary inquiry into nuclear power and wrote in 2020: “Rather than perpetually divisive, I believe nuclear technology has the ability to unite Australians. It is a proposal that brings together progressives and conservatives within the Coalition.

Julian Leeser of NSW is being promoted from backbench to Shadow Attorney General and Shadow Minister for Indigenous Australians. This will give him a key role in the opposition’s response to the government’s planned referendum to enshrine an Indigenous voice in Parliament.

Leeser has a long-standing interest and involvement in Aboriginal affairs. He co-chaired with Patrick Dodson of the Labor Party a parliamentary inquiry into the constitutional recognition of Indigenous Australians where he participated in the process of co-designing a voice in Parliament.

The Coalition has only one Aboriginal member in the federal Parliament, Jacinta Price, who will sit with the Nationals. Asked about her at her press conference, Dutton pointed out that she had just been elected, but pointed to her likely future elevation.

The Nationals will have six members of the 24-member shadow cabinet – up from five in the Morrison cabinet – reflecting their larger proportion of the Coalition, thanks to holding their seats and securing a senator.

They also took over the business, a long-term ambition and a portfolio they once held. The trade and tourism goes to NSW nationals Kevin Hogan.

Littleproud, who picked his frontbenchers, included in the shadow cabinet Barnaby Joyce, whom he beat to leadership. Littleproud’s decision was presumably partly motivated by his desire to prevent outspoken Joyce from causing too much trouble. Joyce will serve as critic for veterans affairs.

Another former Nationals executive, Michael McCormack, is spokesman for international development and the Pacific at the Shadow Department’s Outer Department.

Having 10 women corresponds to the number of members of the Albanian cabinet of 23 members.

Liberal Party deputy leader Sussan Ley will serve as shadow minister for industry, skills and training, and small family businesses, as well as shadow minister for women, where she will be tasked with trying to win back support from voters who deserted the Coalition in the election.

A notable absence from the frontbench is former immigration minister Alex Hawke, a faction figures man for Scott Morrison. Stuart Robert, another close ally of Morrison, was demoted to shadow outside ministry, becoming shadow deputy treasurer and shadow minister for financial services.

Morrison had publicly indicated that he did not want a front-bench position. His colleagues do not expect him to serve his full term.

Former Nationals resources minister Keith Pitt is no longer on the sidelines. The Shadow Resources Minister will be Queensland Nationals Senator Susan McDonald.

Darren Chester, who ran as leader of the Nationals, remains on the backbench, where Joyce sent him last year.

Dutton convinced former Foreign Secretary Marise Payne, who had not applied for a top job, to become shadow cabinet secretary.

Littleproud will continue in agriculture, an area he held in government.

Foreign Affairs goes to Senate Opposition Leader Simon Birmingham, where he will follow his Senate counterpart, Foreign Secretary Penny Wong. Birmingham is the leader of the liberal party’s shrunken band of moderates, after several fell to ‘teal’ independents.

Michaelia Cash, former Attorney General and Minister of Industrial Relations, becomes Shadow Minister of Employment and Industrial Relations.

Karen Andrews will follow her former home affairs field and also become shadow minister for child protection and family violence prevention.

Nationals Deputy Chief Perin Davey is in charge of water and emergency management.

Former Trade Minister Dan Tehan becomes Shadow Minister of Immigration and Citizenship.

Health and care for the elderly goes to Anne Ruston, who during the election campaign was nominated by Morrison for the health portfolio should the government remain in office.

Senate Nationals leader Bridget McKenzie will serve as shadow minister for infrastructure, transportation and regional development.

Sarah Henderson – a former ABC journalist turned vocal critic of the public broadcaster – will become shadow communications minister.

Former SAS member Andrew Hastie becomes defense spokesman. He was Deputy Minister of Defense before the elections.

Victorian Jane Hume will be Shadow Finance Minister and Shadow Special Minister of State.

Alan Tudge, whose status became confused in government after stepping aside following claims by a former staffer, will serve as education spokesman.

Paul Fletcher becomes Shadow Minister for Science, Digital Economy and Government Services. He will also have responsibility for the arts.

Michael Sukkar takes on social services, NDIS, housing and homelessness.

The environmental shadow will be Jonathon Duniam, a senator from Tasmania.

Dutton said the opposition had “incredible depth of talent”. “I’m aware of trying to get people to seize an opportunity,” he said.

Littleproud said the Nationals team he fielded was “about renewal and generational change.”

He was enthusiastic about returning to trade: ‘The trade portfolio has a long and proud history with nationals, including with party greats John McEwen and Doug Anthony.’

List of shadow ministries

Comments are closed.